Architect of the Year

Francine Houben


Francine Houben founded Mecanoo in 1984. She has since led the firm to success in The Netherlands and abroad, amassing a portfolio of work that is wide-ranging, inspired by global challenges and with a sustainable view on society.Mecanoo combines the disciplines of architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture and interior desig...

Read More

Architectural Student of the Year

Jess Phillips

Johnson Naylor

I often think I should have pursued my first dream of being a historian as opposed to a designer. I marched forward with the latter due to my belief that my writing skills were well below par and I found it easiest to articulate myself through drawing than words. However over my 6 years of architectural education I have slowly comprehe...

Read More

Contribution to Architecture Award

Carol Ross Barney

Ross Barney Architects

Carol Ross Barney, FAIA, HASLA has been in the vanguard of civic space design since founding Ross Barney Architects in 1981. With a career that spans nearly 50 years, Carol has made significant contributions to the built environment, the profession, and architectural education. From the early days in the United States Peace Corps plann...

Read More

Emerging Architect of the Year

Eleonore Leclerc


The material expression of Eleonore's design sensibility as an architect is rooted in the textural quality of the architecture of old Quebec City where she was born and raised. This appreciation for materials and the means by which they are joined found modern expression for Eleonore at the UBC School of Architecture. Her award-winning...

Read More

Innovation in Architecture Award

Sanne van der Burgh


Senior Associate and Architect, Sanne van der Burgh (NL), leads multiple teams in MVRDV's Studio EMEA, realizing projects of various scales, phases, and across several countries. Having played an integral role in high profile MVRDV projects including the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen Depot, -one of the world's first publically accessib...

Read More

Pioneering Award

Nadia Tromp

Ntsika Architects

Nadia Tromp is a South African architect best known for her work in social architecture and spatial transformation. In 2008 she founded Ntsika Architects, one of the few black-owned female practices in the country.Tromp served as the President of the Gauteng Institute for Architecture (GIfA), a region of the South African Institute of ...

Read More

Social Change Award

Fernanda Oppermann


Our work at Mutuo is as much about empathy as it is about space.Fernanda is an immigrant from Brazil to the United States. Jose, her business partner, is also an immigrant, from Mexico. Being an immigrant offers the invaluable gift of seeing the world through a new lens. The uncomfortable and exciting journey of discovering your way in...

Read More

Team of the Year

MoMA Renovation and Expansion Team

Diller Scofidio + Renfro, Gensler and MoMA

-Elizabeth Diller, Partner, Diller Scofidio + Renfro-Madeline Burke-Vigeland, FAIA, LEED AP, NCARB, Principal, Gensler-Jean Savitsky, Director, Real Estate and Construction, The Museum of Modern ArtElizabeth Diller is a partner of Diller Scofidio + Renfro, an interdisciplinary design firm responsible for two of the largest architecture...

Read More

Spotlight Award

NEW: Innovation in Interior Design

NEW: Interior Designer of the Year

NEW: Emerging Interior Designer of the Year

NEW: Workplace of the Year